TGIF (11): Christmas in July

TGIF at GReads is weekly event hosted by Ginger from GReads.  The features allows us to recap the weeks posts and to answer a book-related question proposed by Ginger.  This week’s question is:

Christmas in July: If Santa were to come down your chimney in the middle of summer, which books would you want him to leave for you under the tree?

Hmm.  I don’t usually buy lots of books because I work in a library, so I just borrow books there.  If I ever get the urge to buy a book, it is for something I want right away, so I usually don’t have a list of books I want.  That being said, since I started blogging, I have purchased more books (probably around 15) than I have in YEARS!  So, there are a few books I wouldn’t mind under the tree:

Pushing the Limits by Katie McGarry.  This book will be released on July 31, and I am definitely buying it.  I loved this book so much, certainly more than I thought I would.  I have read a few reviews (but many other positive ones) stating a dislike for the endearments Noah uses towards Echo, and although it certainly wasn’t my favorite, it really was such a small annoyance, and besides that, the story was phenomenal!  This book is definitely one I would re-read, so I would love to have my own copy.

John Green Limited Edition Boxed Set.  Umm, yeah, I definitely want this!

So actually, that is about it.  Again, I only buy books when I have this urge to spend some money on books, or I’m going to some kind of signing.  I never have a list of books I want my own copy of.  It’s hard for me to want to have my own copy of books when I know they are just sitting on the shelf at work.  But owning books is fun, and I am not knocking it.

Recent Posts on Quinn’s Book Nook

In My Mailbox #21
Review: Size 12 Is Not Fat by Meg Cabot
Top Ten (Actually 8) Most Vivid Words/Settings in Books
Waiting on Death and the Girl Next Door by Darynda Jones
Review: Allie Finkle’s Rules for Girls: The New Girl by Meg Cabot

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in TGIF and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TGIF (11): Christmas in July

  1. fakesteph says:

    I totally love your picks. Yeah, I cringed EVERY time Noah said “baby”, but I loved the book SO SO SO SO much. And I didn’t know there was a limited edition John Green Box Set. I NEED IT!

  2. Brittany says:

    I just started reading Pushing the Limits! And can you believe I haven’t read any of John Green’s books yet? I’m so ashamed! lol

  3. Jo says:

    Great choices! I’m a librarian, so I get almost all my books from the library. I chose 2 that I wouldn’t mind owning, and that I’m looking forward to. 🙂

  4. I felt the same about Pushing the Limits. The language and thoughts Noah had were just a bit of an annoyance, but I loved the story and the individual characters.

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.