Audio Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

girl of fire and thornsThe Girl of Fire and Thorns
Author: Rae Carson
Publisher: Greenwillow
Age Group: Teen
Source: Audible
Good Reads  |  Amazon
Rating: 4 out of 5

Summary from Goodreads:

Once a century, one person is chosen for greatness.
Elisa is the chosen one.

But she is also the younger of two princesses, the one who has never done anything remarkable. She can’t see how she ever will.

Now, on her sixteenth birthday, she has become the secret wife of a handsome and worldly king—a king whose country is in turmoil. A king who needs the chosen one, not a failure of a princess.

And he’s not the only one who seeks her. Savage enemies seething with dark magic are hunting her. A daring, determined revolutionary thinks she could be his people’s savior. And he looks at her in a way that no man has ever looked at her before. Soon it is not just her life, but her very heart that is at stake.

Elisa could be everything to those who need her most. If the prophecy is fulfilled. If she finds the power deep within herself. If she doesn’t die young.

Most of the chosen do.

 

Rating

4 out of 5

4 out of 5

My Thoughts

I’ve been procrastinating writing my thoughts for The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson.  I’m just not sure how to adequately put all my thoughts and feelings into coherent words.  But, I’m going to try, because that’s why I started blogging – to talk to other book lovers about the stories I’ve read.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns is one emotional read, and the real gem is the main character, Elisa.  Princess Elisa is the bearer of the Godstone – the only bearer in a hundred years.  Bearing the Godstone means that the bearer is destined for some great service, and it has put a lot of pressure on Elisa’s shoulders.  Despite being a princess, and being the bearer, Elisa is incredibly self-conscious.  You see, Elisa finds a lot of comfort in food, which has resulted in Elisa becoming overweight.  And on top of that, Elisa feels estranged from her older sister, and her father; she doesn’t really have anyone she’s particularly close to.

I loved The Girl of Fire and Thorns so much solely because I loved Elisa.  She’s self-conscious, but she’s also so incredibly smart.  She shows her courage over and over throughout the whole novel, in so many way.  The way Elisa accepts all the changes in her life is amazing, and definitely not something I could have done at sixteen (or ever, really).    Elisa’s character growth throughout the story is amazing.

It did take me a little bit to get into the book.  At first I thought the book was going to focus on religious beliefs too much for my taste, but I was pleasantly surprised.  Religion and faith do play a large part of the plot, but it never becomes preachy, and really added a lot to this world that Carson created.  I also struggled a bit at first because I thought the book was going to be about the court happenings, and I really didn’t care for those types of games.  But then the plot changes directions, and whoa, baby I fell hard for this book.

I’m really glad that I chose to listen to The Girl of Fire and Thorns via audiobook.  I’m not sure if I would have stuck with the book because I wasn’t feeling the beginning if I was reading the print version.  But the audiobook made it a little bit easier for me to enjoy at the beginning, and then when the change happens, I couldn’t put it down.

The Girl of Fire and Thorns will pull your emotions from one direction to the next, but in a very good way.  I had ALL THE FEELS, and I definitely want to read the other two books in the series.  I highly recommend this one.

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in 4 Star Reviews, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Audio Review: The Girl of Fire and Thorns by Rae Carson

  1. lipsyy says:

    I’ve been meaning to pick this up for a while, sounds great!

  2. Christina says:

    Fantastic review! I felt the same way in the beginning (about the religion, etc) and it took me awhile to get into it, but then I was hooked. I actually liked book two and three more than book one, which never happens. I hope you get to read the rest of the series soon!

    • Quinn says:

      I keep hearing that the following books in this series are even better! Which is totally saying something. I definitely want to read them, but I’m taking a little break. The book gave me all the feels, and I need to regroup a bit. 🙂

  3. Candice says:

    Soooo glad you read this! Er… listened. I’ll admit that this one was not my favorite of the series; let me just say you are in for SUCH A TREAT when you get to the next two books. Honestly, this series only gets better and better with each book. I was slightly put off by the religion in GOFAT at first, but after a while it grew on me and became a little less weird. Honestly the godstone in her belly button still creeps me out. Anyway, hope you get to read the next ones soon-like! 🙂

    • Quinn says:

      Haha! Yeah, the godstone freaks me out a little, too. I keep trying to picture what it would be like, and i get the shivers. I am super excited to read the next two. I am talking a little break, though. I want some lighter fare, because this one was so emotional.

      • Candice says:

        I kept imagining a troll doll when I thought about it. Like those ones from when we were little that had the gem on it’s tummy? Got a little weird. 🙂

  4. Glad you enjoyed TGoF&T! This is one of those trilogies that gets better and better with each book 😀

  5. Candace says:

    I really do love this series. Elisa is one of my most favorite characters ever and she really grows more in the next book. I haven’t read the third yet, which is ridiculous since I have it. So glad you finally read this and loved it!

  6. Charlene @ Bookish Whimsy says:

    Well I am glad the book really picks up later, that knowledge will make me keep reading then! The main character sounds fantastic, and the plot is very intriguing, so I hope to pick this up to read soon!

  7. I’ve had this book on my TBR shelf for a couple years and just keep bypassing when I go there to pick something to read. It sounds so good and so unique that I think I’m going to have to move it up my priority list. Great review that really makes me want to read this right now!

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.