Feature and Follow Friday (9)

Feature & Follow Friday is hosted by both Alison Can Read & Parakunkee’s View. The point of Feature & Follow Friday is to gain blog followers for book bloggers.  You can find more info about this meme here.

Q: When you step out of your USUAL genre what do you like to read? Best books in that genre?

I don’t really have a usual genre.  There is a genre that I never read (science fiction) but otherwise I read books from many genres.  But one genre I don’t read a lot of is non-fiction.  I do like non-fiction, but I don’t read a ton.  Here are two MG/YA non-fiction books that I think are outstanding:

The Notorious Benedict Arnold: A True Story of Adventure, Heroism & Treachery by Steve Sheinkin
I can’t tell you how amazing this book is.  Us Americans all think of Benedict Arnold as this terrible traitor, but before he sided with the British during the American Revolution, he was instrumental in the U.S. winning the war.  Actually even after he switched sides, he helped the U.S. win the war.  This book is absolutely fascinating, and you will never look at the American Revolution the same way again.  And isn’t that cover amazing!?

Charles and Emma: The Darwins’ Leap of Faith by Deborah Heiligman
I have talked about this book before on the blog, but I can’t emphasize enough how amazing this book is.  You learn about the man Charles Darwin, not just about his theory of evolution.  And what an amazing man he was, and so devoted to his wife.  What I love about this book is that we see two people who have vastly different beliefs in religion, but still manage to build a life together, respect each other, and love each other.  Seriously you guys, you should check this one out.  See all the rewards on the cover?  Not that awards means you will love a book, but this one is beautiful.  Plus, the cover for this one is totally fantastic, too!

Recent Posts on Quinn’s Book Nook

Project: Fairy Tale
 In My Mailbox #33
Deja Vu Review (7)
 Audio Review: A Great and Terrible Beauty by Libba Bray
Top Ten (erm, Six) Fairy Tale Retellings Authors
Waiting on Invisibility by Andrea Cremer & David Levithan
Review: Socia Suicide by Gemma Halliday

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Feature & Follow Friday and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to Feature and Follow Friday (9)

  1. Never heard of those books. 🙂 Old follower just stopping by. Happy Reading!

  2. frodosco says:

    I am the same way in that I read all sorts of genres of books. I also don’t read too much non-fiction though so great pick of genre!
    New follower (biochemguy22(at)yahoo(dot)com – email)

    Here is my FF if you would like to check it out. 🙂

  3. I read Mystery/Thriller when I step out of YA 🙂
    Have a great Friday!

    Old email follower (chidoryx AT hotmail DOT com)

    Sugar & Snark

  4. Hopping through. I’ve meant to read Charles and Emma for years. I’ve heard it’s great.
    My Hop

  5. Merin says:

    I really want to read both of those books, particularly Charles and Emma. Great picks to showcase!

    I’m an old WordPress follower. 🙂 My F&F post

  6. Heather Wood says:

    Thanks for stopping by my FF! I don’t read a ton of non-fiction either, but I’ll pick up a true crime book now and then.

  7. Cindy Mai says:

    Thanks for stopping by my blog! Those look like some good books to read.

    Old follower
    Cindy
    http://bookaholicfaggots.blogpspot.com

  8. It’s been such a long time since I’ve read a non-fiction book. I love ones about history, especially prominent women figures. This kind of makes me want to read one now.

  9. Yeah, it’s really hard to get into non-fiction. Reminds me too much like going to college.

    Thanks for stopping by.

  10. Nice! I haven’t heard of the first one, but it sounds really fascinating!
    Old follower, yay!
    Thanks for stopping by my FF’S for this week
    Book Me! and Carmen Jenner.com
    Have a great week! =D

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.