Deja Vu Review (16)

So, Brittany from The Book Addict’s Guide has started a new weekly feature called The Deja Vu Review, where we can give mini reviews of books we’ve read before we started blogging (or books we never wrote reviews for).  I think this is a great idea, and although it means I’m participating in five memes a week (I know that is crazy!  But I will still post at least two book reviews a week) I wanted to support Brittany.  Plus, it is fun!

Since I am a children’s librarian (at a public library) I read a ridiculous amount of picture books.  I am always looking for new books to use during the THREE storytimes I do a week.  I love picture books, and thought I would share my thoughts on a few of them for this meme.

PiggiesPiggies by Audrey & Don Wood
Rating: 4.5/5 Stars
Mini-Review: I absolutely love Audrey & Don Wood’s picture books.  The illustrations are always charming, and the stories are super cute, and just right for storytimes.  Piggies is one of my favorites, and is perfect for two and three year olds (although four year olds will enjoy it just as much!).  The story is very simple, and it also lets kids participate during the story by showing the appropriate fingers.

 

Anansi Moss Covered RockAnansi and the Moss-Covered Rock retold by Eric A. Kimmel
Rating: 5/5 Stars
Mini-Review:  Folktales are wonderful for storytimes.  After all, folktales were originally told (as opposed to being read).  Anansi is a crowd pleaser, and if you have never looked into these books you are missing out.  Anansi the spider is up to his usual tricks, trying to avoiding doing any work, but still end up with all the food.  I just love the illustrations in this book.  They are just perfect for the story, and somehow you just know that Anansi is up to no-good when you first see him on the page.  And the story is totally amazing.  This book is perfect for 4-6 year olds, although three year olds can enjoy it.

Life Tidbits

  • I babysat my cousin’s kids last night.  They are so cute, and really fun to be around.
  • I had to go to the mall Saturday for some last minute Christmas shopping, and it took me about 40 minutes JUST to find a parking space.  I am not even kidding.  It was awful.  And I just needed a few things at one store, and knew I wouldn’t have another chance.
  • I picked up the MAC CremeColor Base in Shell when I was at the mall, though.  It’s super pretty.  I love highlighters.
  • I am heading down to my parent’s house today to do Christmas stuff.  We are going to decorate the tree, and make Christmas cookies.  I should probably mention that my mom and I are not kitchen people, so I have no idea if the cookies are going to turn out okay.  But it will be a fun experience.
  • Last Sunday I went to an author event at Oblong Books in Rhinebeck, NY.  It was AWESOME!  I got to see Libba Bray and Gwenda Bond, and also meet April and Allison from Good Books and Good Wine.  I will definitely be going to more events there in the future.  In fact, they have some amazing events planned for February.

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in The Deja Vu Review and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Deja Vu Review (16)

  1. vmcarswell says:

    Folktales are fun! I will have to look into these for my 4 yr old. I just got him a cute penguin picture book for his birthday. I think it’s called One Cool Friend. Great picks! Here’s my Deja Vu Review!

    Vyki @ On The Shelf

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.