TGIF (10): Gateway Books

TGIF at GReads is weekly event hosted by Ginger from GReads.  The features allows us to recap the weeks posts and to answer a book-related question proposed by Ginger.  This week’s question is:

Gateway Books: Which particular books opened you up to a new genre? 

Okay, so I just deleted a whole bunch of stuff on what books opened up the world of YA lit to me, but it really wasn’t working.  And besides, YA lit isn’t really a genre, it’s a category.  There are all sorts of genres in the YA lit category (horror, romance, paranormal, fantasy, etc.).

So, I am going to share some books that helped me realize how much I love humorous books!

Bridget Jones’s Diary by Helen Fielding is probably one of the first books I read that was undeniably hilarious!  And I loved it.  I read Bridget Jones when I was in high school, and I can remember laughing nonstop while reading this books.

After Bridget Jones I started reading the Stephanie Plum books by Janet Evanovich.  Wow!  These books  might be the ones that really made me realize how much I appreciate books that make me laugh.  I can remember reading this my freshman year and college, and my roommate kept giving me these odd looks because I couldn’t stop laughing out loud.  (Is that a run-on sentence?)

After reading so many Stephanie Plum books, I just realized that my favorites will almost always be ones that make me laugh, whether they are YA or grown-up books.

Some of my favorite funny YA books are:

All American Girl by Meg Cabot
Angus, Thongs and Full-Frontal Snogging by Louise Rennison
The Absolutely True Diary of a Part-Time Indian by Sherman Alexie
(okay this one is definitely sad sometimes too, but it still has a lot of humor)
The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom by Christopher Healy

Life Tidbits

  • Last night (Thursday) was the teen lock-in party.  It was so much fun, and I think all the teens had a great time, but man am I exhausted today.
  • The library was completely trashed by the end of the teen lock-in, with M&Ms and glitter everywhere!  It took an extra 1/2 hour to clean it up, and there were four of us.
  • Because I am so tired, and I am hoping that the stuff I wrote makes sense.  If it doesn’t, I’m really sorry!
  • My friend had her baby!  Her baby was almost four weeks early, but baby and mom and doing well.  I’m hoping to see them this afternoon.
  • My cousin’s wedding is in two weeks!  He is getting married in Toronto, Ontario, Canada.  I’m excited, although I usually get kind of bored during the receptions.  I wish I could bring a book and read it there, but that would be so rude.

Recent Posts on Quinn’s Book Nook

In My Mailbox #20
Review: In Honor by Jessi Kirby
Top Ten Books For People Who Like Anna and the French Kiss
Waiting on Splintered by A. G. Howard
Review: Evermore by Alyson Noel

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in TGIF and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to TGIF (10): Gateway Books

  1. Brittany says:

    Yes, I absolutely love the Stephanie Plum books! Definitely a good choice 🙂

  2. Candice says:

    I read Bridget Jones’ Diary in college and loved it! So so cute. I’m a huge fan of books that make me laugh, especially those that appeal to my sense of humor. I’ll have to check out the Stephanie Plum series; several people I know really like them!

    • Quinn says:

      The Stephanie Plum books are really funny, especially the first few. There are 18 now, and I don’t think they are as funny as they were at the beginning. But the first four are pretty awesome. If you read them, I would love to hear what you think of them.

  3. I loved Bridget Jones’ Diary – I thought it was hilarious! And I’m happy you picked All American Girl; that’s one of my favorites from Meg Cabot 🙂

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.