15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 4

You guys, April from Good Books and Good Wine came across the best Blogging Challenge!  And I’m totally participating because it is the best idea ever!  Anyway, she came up with 15 challenges (one a day).  You should totally participate, too!  Here’s the cool graphic and challenges April put together.

15-Day-Challenge

It’s Day 4 and today I’m going to share with you the last book I threw across the room.

Well, the first book that comes to mind I read about a year ago.  This book has a lot of fans, so don’t throw tomatoes, okay?  The book is . . .

in honor

In Honor by Jessi Kirby
I know, I know so many of you loved this book.  But I found Honor infuriating.  But what tipped the scale was an event that happened toward the end of the book.  I’m going to describe the scene now, so beware.  Warning: There Be Spoilers Ahead!

Okay, towards the end, Honor gets really frustrated after learning some disturbing information.  So she picks up a rock and chucks it, and it ends up breaking some windows (or something along those lines, it’s been a while since I read this).  And there’s a police officer nearby, and he sees the window being broken, but he doesn’t know if Honor or Rusty (the guy Honor has been traveling with) threw the rock.  So Rusty tells the cop he did it, and Honor, like a total loser, lets Rusty get arrested.  She doesn’t tell the cop that it was her – she just stands there.  Even though she’s the one who broke the window.  I mean, Rusty is driven away in the police car!  And she just let’s him.  And then, she just hangs out at the beach.  She doesn’t rush off to the police station to admit her guilt.  Granted, Honor is dealing with some heavy stuff, but still.  

My frustration level skyrocketed at this scene, and I actually started crying because I was so mad.  I didn’t actually throw the book, but I was so close.  I know that Honor is not a real character, but if she were, I would actually have told her what was on my mind (and I am an avoid-confrontation-at-all-costs kind of person).  I think we all have things that are important to us, and what Honor did (or didn’t do in this case) is a deal breaker for me, no matter what she was going through.  I stopped liking Honor after that.  And that one scene really affected how I felt about the book.

If you’re curious, you can check out my review from last year.

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to 15 Day Book Blogging Challenge: Day 4

  1. I don’t get THAT mad at books too often, but there have been times that certain characters or plot twists make me absolutely furious!

  2. April says:

    I skipped the spoiler stuff, because I have been wanting to read this one. Not every book is for every person.. no worries and no tomato throwing here! :o)

  3. Alison says:

    Ahhhh that is infuriating!
    Did you skip day 3?

    • Quinn says:

      I was so frustrated with Honor. Like I said, my eyes teared up because I was so angry.

      I did skip day 3. I struggled a bit with it, and decided to skip that one. I didn’t want to hurt anyone’s feelings.

  4. That is a good reason for not liking a main character..no integrity is a deal breaker for me as well!

  5. I have been that frustrated before. I probably wouldn’t read it anymore. Hopefully you don’t have to throw any books in the future!
    Brittany @ Spare Time Book blog
    My post: http://sparetimebookblog.blogspot.com/2013/07/15-day-blogger-challenge-day-4.html

  6. pnh002 says:

    That disappoints me because I just read my first book by Kirby (Golden) and I was hoping this one was just as good. I guess I should still give it a shot.

    Thanks for stopping by Take Me Away…

  7. I haven’t read this book and am not really sure whether I’m going to try or not. I’ll keep what you said in mind. Great post!

  8. Julie S. says:

    Ugh after reading your spoiler section I agree with you. I can’t stand when characters (real or fiction) act badly and can’t take responsibility for their actions.

  9. I’ve heard so many awesome things about this Author, I didn’t read the spoilers as I want to read this book, but whatever disappointed you, what a pity 😦

    Day 3 & 4 Blogger Challenge

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.