Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  This was surprisingly easy, which definitely isn’t a good thing.  I really need to start tackling my TBR list, and stop brining home new things.  🙂

toptentuesday

In no particular order . . .

entwinedspeechlesseKeeping the castleScore_CVR.inddEverneath_coverborn wickedCity of Lost Soulsstargirlmwf seeking bff























1.  Entwined by Heather Dixon.  I am determined to read this one this year, hopefully this spring.  I don’t know why I haven’t read it yet because I love fairytale retellings and a favorite fairytale of mine is The Twelve Dancing Princesses.  Seriously, Quinn!

2.  Speechless by Hannah Harrington.  I picked this up when it was a daily deal for Kindle because I’ve heard how amazing it is. But it’s collecting dust in Kindle space.

3.  Easy by Tammara Webber.  Everyone was raving about this awhile back, and when I saw it at my local independent bookstore, I snatched it up immediately.  Of course, I haven’t read it yet.

4.  Keeping the Castle by Patrice Kindl.  This book looks like a fantastically fun, quick read.  And yet, I haven’t found the time. *tsk tsk*

5.  Catching Jordan by Miranda Kenneally.  I keep seeing tons of love for Miranda Kenneally, but I still haven’t devoted anytime for this one.

6.  Everneath by Brodi Ashton.  I love the Persephone tale, so I picked this up more than a year ago.  (Side note: a girl at the library keeps pronouncing Persephone “Persa-Fone”  It cracks me up!)

7.  Born Wicked by Jessica Spotswood.  I’m not gonna lie.  I bought this because the cover is SOOOO pretty.  I do want to read the book, though.

8.  City of Lost Souls by Cassandra Clare.  I still can’t believe I haven’t read this one.  I just so nervous.  I’m going to wait until the release of City of Heavenly Fire is closer.

9.  Stargirl by Jerry Spinelli.  I just can’t believe I haven’t read this period.

10.  MWF Seeking BFF: My Yearlong Search for a New Best Friend by Rachel Bertsche.  I was so excited when I first heard of this one.  I had had a fallng out my my BFF, and it was not easy finding new friends at my age.  I immediately downloaded it for my kindle, and then . . . nothing.  Years later, I still have read it.

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

55 Responses to Top Ten Books I HAD To Buy…But Are Still Sitting On My Shelf Unread

  1. Susan says:

    Catching Jordan is still on my to-read list too. I got it for $1,99 as a Kindle Daily Deal. I’ll eventually read it though.

  2. Ohhh Easy is SO good! A few of the others are still sitting in my Nook getting buried under the weight of my TBR pile lol

  3. Robyn Jones says:

    I breezed through Catching Jordan. And Easy consumed me until I finished it. That’s a fun shelf of reads you have waiting for you.

  4. Born Wicked was just fantastic! You must read it ASAP I loved it! I haven’t read Speechless but Saving June by Hannah Harrington has become one of my fave books of all time 😀

    My Top Ten

    Have a great week!

  5. Angie says:

    I have always been interested in Stargirl. I just need to get around to reading it!!! Here is my Top Ten Tuesday! Angie

  6. Rebecca says:

    I just finished Everneath recently and really enjoyed it. Speechless was pretty good, too, but it didn’t blow me away like I hoped it would. Entwined has this fun magical atmosphere to it! I’ve never read the twelve dancing princesses, but this book was great all on its own.

  7. Jessica says:

    I hope you get around to Easy and enjoy it! I really liked it. You just reminded me how I want to read Entwined and Everneath.

  8. angelicreader says:

    As always thanks to your list I had at least 5 books to my TBR pile.

    THANKS. cos that is exactly what I needed. *practically dripping with sarcasm* *sigh*

    😛

    • Quinn says:

      Lol. Glad I could help 🙂 Better too many, than too little, right? That’s what I say to myself whenever I look at my TBR list!

      • angelicreader says:

        Yeah that’s true I guess. If only I could come up with a way to decide which ones should come first.

  9. Born Wicked!!! I loved that one SO MUCH! Also, Keeping the Castle is on my TBR as well 🙂

  10. Ink and Page says:

    Ha! I have Speechless to read as well…though it is scheduled for this month. I can’t believe you haven’t read City of Lost Souls or Easy! I just got Everneath from the library.

    Here’s my list: Top Ten Tuesday

  11. Liesel Hill says:

    City of Lost Souls is sitting on my shelf, too, but it didn’t make my list, mostly because I didn’t buy it. It’s my sister’s book, but I’m going to try and get to it before the film comes out in September. Great list! 😀
    My TTT

  12. elena says:

    I’ve been meaning to try out Miranda K for the longest time! My friend absolutely adores her.

  13. daphne says:

    keeping the castle was SOOO good. loved it. very cute and quick. also, Chasing Jordan was pretty good too, though I prefer the second book in the series, Stealing Parker.

  14. Brittany says:

    I have Entwinted sitting on my shelf too! I just got that one recently though.
    Hope you enjoy Born Wicked when you get to it! I really enjoyed that one!

  15. Interesting list! I haven’t heard of any of these titles but they all looks great, hope you enjoy these titles when you get to them!

    My TTT

  16. tinalinatime says:

    Entwined is sooooo flippin good! Read that one! Read that one! Born Wicked is fun too! 🙂 I still haven’t read Catching Jordan even though its totally on my kindle! oops!

  17. based on that cover, i wouldn’t mind catching jordan!! hahaha
    i read city of lost souls recently- it was good! but i can also see the point of waiting until the next release is coming. i always battle back and forth about it, but usually give in and just read it!

    • Quinn says:

      LOL. I give in and read the series, too. Like with Opal from the Lux series by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Now I am dying for the next book. But it isn’t a terribly long wait, thank goodness.

  18. teenadvisoryboardwhslibrary says:

    Star girl and Easy are fabulous!

  19. Ohh yup, I also bought CIty of Lost Souls right when it was released… but kind of lost interest in it. I wasn’t a huge fan of CoFA. I still want to see the series through to the end though, so I will likely do the same as you and wait until CoHF is out.

    I do not actually own Easy, but that is also one that I have been really wanting to get to due to all the rave reviews. Thanks for taking the time to stop by my blog earlier!

    • Quinn says:

      I didn’t love COFA as much as I was expecting to either. I kind of wish Cassandra Clare stopped the series after City of Glass. That said, I will definitely read COLS and COHF. It is Cassandra Clare, after all! I’m just reading for something from her other than shadow hunter, you know?

  20. I am surprised a fan of the mortal instruments could wait to read this! Even my MOM sped through them. But I do love to be able to read a book and then immediately pick up the sequel, so maybe your nervous procrastination will pay off! 🙂

    • Quinn says:

      LOL. I know! I love TMI – especially the first three. But I am just seriously stressed about all the characters, and I hate waiting for the sequels.

  21. Lynn says:

    I’m seeing Everneath on so many lists today! It must have been big at some point, I hadn’t actually heard of it!

  22. I’ve heard really great things about Speechless and Catching Jordan! I hope you enjoy them :). Thanks for stopping by and commenting on my blog!

  23. Michelle says:

    I’ve never heard of MWF Seeking New BFF but it sounds so like something I would love!!! I need to read Speechless, Catching Jordan, and Easy too… like really bad!! Stargirl… ehh I didn’t really get it, but it has a good message 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • Quinn says:

      Now I’m a little nervous about Stargirl. I don’t always like really message-y books. MWF Seeking New BFF looks so fun. I can’t believe I haven’t read that one yet!

  24. LisaILJ says:

    I could have included Entwined on my list too, however, after I have it scheduled finally for this week. Thanks for visiting my TTT.

    LisaILJ @ I’ll Tumble for YA

  25. Everneath is slow at the beginning but it picks up..I like the sequel even more than the first! I think of the two knowing your taste you would LOVE Entwined!

  26. I enjoyed all of these that I’ve read, minus the CC book. Catching Jordan, Everneath, Entwined and Easy were all a lot of fun. It is now dawning on me how many E books I read. Haha.

  27. Yes, definitely read Speechless soon! Saving June is still my favorite by Hannah Harrington, but Speechless was a great read nonetheless. City of Lost Souls was really good but, warning(!), there’s a bit of a cliffhanger so it might not be a bad thing that you’re waiting to read it. Less time for COHF! 🙂

    Here’s my TTT

  28. I also want to read So Wicked! The cover is gorgeous! All of the books I want in my TBR pile! Thanks for stopping by my site. Gotta love Mr. Darcy!

  29. Gooooood call on waiting awhile to read COLS. COHF is still so far. I’m afraid I’ll have forgotten everything. 😦 I still need to read Easy as well. I did like Everneath but it was the sequel that I loved. I hope you get to read some of these soon!

    Thanks for stopping by my post!

    ~Sara @ Forever 17 Books

  30. Ooh great list! I have a couple of those that I picked up too that still need to be read… I was gifted Stargirl AGES ago .. vaguely remember it a bit but it’s been so long.. fairly quick read though so no excuse!! 😉 lol.. you’ll finish it so quickly, I’m sure! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT earlier this week!

    Michele | TTT

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.