Top Ten Books On My Spring 2013 TBR list!

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  So, I’m never successful completing read lists.  I’m such a mood reader, and what appeals to me one minute, might not the next minute.  So what looks awesome right now to me, I might not be in the mood for tomorrow.  But I’m going to try my best, here.

toptentuesday

In no particular order . . .

matildaclockwork princessIf I Should DieDare You ToHeros guide to storming the castle

Toweringdance of shadowslincolns grave robbershow my summer went up in flamespirit and dust























1.  Matilda by Roald Dahl.  I’ve read this a few times before, but I want to re-read it before I go see Matilda, the Musical in NYC in June.  It’s one of my favorite children’s books.

2.  Clockwork Princess by Cassandra Clare (releasing on March 19).  Come on, who isn’t waiting for this one?

3.  If I Should Die by Amy Plum (releasing May 7).  I have been holding off on the second book so that I can read books 2 and 3 together.  I really liked the first book.  Actually, now that I think about it, I should probably re-read Die for Me before I read books 2 and 3.

4.  Dare You To by Katie McGarry (releasing May 28th).  Oh my gosh, Pushing the Limits was one of my favorite reads of last year.  I cannot wait to get my hands on her next book! Besides, I needed to feature that steamy cover!

5.  The Hero’s Guide to Storming the Castle by Christopher Healy.  Again, The Hero’s Guide to Saving Your Kingdom was a favorite read of last year.  I was lucky enough to be sent an ARC of this one, and I cannot wait to read it.

6.  Towering by Alex Flinn (May 14th).  I love fairytale retellings!  I have an egalley of this from Edelweiss, and I can’t wait to start it.  I’m trying to wait until it’s a bit clsoer to the release date.

7.  Dance of Shadows by Yelena Black.  I can’t believe I still haven’t read this one.  I even have a signed copy now, but it’s still sitting on my shelf.  I have just been in a contemporary mood lately.  And a nonfiction book mood, too, which leads to my next pick.

8.  Lincoln’s Grave Robbers by Steve Sheinkin.  You guys, I have read both The Notorious Benedict Arnold and Bomb: The Race to Build – and Steal – the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon, and let me tell you they are both phenomenal!  I cannot wait to read his newest book which features counterfeiters who attempted to steal Abraham Lincoln’s body to hold for ransom!  Amazing, right?

9.  How My Summer Went Up in Flames by Jennifer Salvato Doktorski (releasing May 7).  Seriously, doesn’t this look like tons of fun!!  I have an egalley from Edelweiss and I cannot wait to crack it open (metaphorically speaking, of course, because I am not literally going to crack open my iPad.  That would be bad.).

10.  Spirit and Dust by Rosemary Clement-Moore (May 14th).  You guys, I loved Texas Gothic so much.  I cannot wait to read this companion novel!!  Also, I’m currently reading Prom Dates from Hell by RCM and am LOVING IT!

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

75 Responses to Top Ten Books On My Spring 2013 TBR list!

  1. I loved How My Summer Went Up in Flames, and Towering looks so good! 🙂 My TTT list: http://aliceinreaderland.com/2013/03/11/spring-2013-tbr-list/

    Alice @ Alice in Readerland

  2. Lucy says:

    So excited for Clockwork Princess! The release date really snuck up on me. And yes also to Dare You To and If I Should Die. Lots of books to look forward to this spring 🙂

  3. Maria says:

    I didn’t realized Clockwork Princess’ release is so near. 🙂 happy reading!

    my TTT

  4. amyo3119 says:

    I love that you included Matilda. I want to read that one day.

  5. Jessica says:

    I didn’t think of adding rereads to my list. Great list and at some point I hope to read Cassandra Clare.

    Jessica @ Literary, etc

  6. I love Roald Dahl! Great list of books, I’m also looking forward to The Clockwork Princess, If I should die and Dance of Shadows.

    Here’s my Top Ten Tuesday.

    Have a great week!

  7. Oooo matilda is a great read, especially for those who love books. I’m sure you’re going to love it 🙂

  8. booksofamber says:

    How My Summer Went Up in Flames sounds aweeeeesome! Can’t wait for it.

  9. Kelly says:

    I had no idea Matilda was a musical now! I need to check it out. Matilda was an all-time fave of my formative years. 🙂

    • Quinn says:

      It was first in London, but now it is coming to Broadway. I think it is opening this month. It won tons of awards in London. I am so excited to see it in June!

  10. Courtney says:

    CLOCKWORK PRINCESS! CANNOT WAIT.

    Okay, now that we have that out of the way…. I also cannot wait for “How My Summer Went Up in Flames” It sounds amazing.

    But really: CLOCKWORK PRINCESS!!!!

  11. Christina says:

    Fantastic list! I really want to read If I Should Die and Dare You Too- Pushing the Limits was one of my favorites last year too!

  12. Liesel Hill says:

    Don’t think I’ve read any of those, but I’ve heard great things about Dare you To and Dance of Shadows. 😀 Great list. I have (different) TTTs at Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Tuesday! 😀

  13. Daphne says:

    i loved How My Summer Went Up In Flames and may have to reread it before it’s released so I can review it properly. and of course! Clockwork Princess!

  14. Loni says:

    I bought a collection of Roald Dahl books recently and I haven’t been able to decide which one to start with. I never read Matilda when I was younger, but everyone seems to love it.

    • Quinn says:

      Matilda is amazing. I would start with that one, but I also really like Fantastic Mr. Fox and James and the Giant Peach. But definitely start with Matilda. It’s the best, I think 🙂

  15. OMG, a musical of Matilda! How awsome is that! One of my favourite books by Roald Dahl. Such fun.

    Nina@J’adore Happy Endings

  16. Ashling says:

    I love Matilda! It’s such a fun read. And I love Alex Flinn’s books, so I’m psyched to read Towering too.

    Ashling @ Reading, Writing, & Anything but Arithmetic

  17. Great choices, it’s fantastic to see Spirit And Dust on so many lists! Happy reading 🙂

    my Top 10!

  18. We have Dare You To and If I Should Die in common. Spirit and Dust is a new one for me. A lot of these are in my TBR list too!
    Liza’s TTT

    • Quinn says:

      I love Rosemary Clement-Moore. I am so excited to read Spirit and Dust. Actually, I’m excited to read ALL of these books. Spring is going to be a great season 🙂

  19. exploringallgenres says:

    I love Matilda. Heck who am I kidding? I love all books by Roald Dahl. Hope you enjoy the musical.

  20. randikins says:

    Definitely agree on Clockwork Princess! I really really need to read Matilda (I’ve never read any of Roald Dahl’s books!), especially because the movie is one of my faves. The musical sounds like a blast! And I just read and adored Pushing the Limits, so I can’t wait for Dare to You. Great list!

    My TTT

    Randi @ Cardigans, Coffee and Bookmarks

    • Quinn says:

      Roald Dahl is great. But Matilda is particularly wonderful for book lovers. You should give it a try. So glad you loved Pushing the Limits! I’m still fangirling over that one.

  21. Lori says:

    I’m seeing How My Summer Went Up In Flames on several lists. I think I’m going to have to check it out. And a definite yes to Clockwork Princess and Dare You To. Great list!
    Thanks for stopping by my TTT! 🙂

  22. Lynn says:

    I always forget about re-reading some of my childhood favorites and I love that Matilda is on your list!

  23. I’m so excited about the Matilda musical…which I learned about on your blog! I am eager to read Dare You To as well since I just finished Pushing the Limits last night. Thanks for sharing!

  24. Towering! Oh yeah 😀 The only reason I want to read If I should die is because of the horrible cliffhanger in the second book. Nice list 🙂

    TTT -Mel@thedailyprophecy.

    • Quinn says:

      I heard about the cliffhanger, which is why I haven’t read the second book yet. I’m waiting until If I Should Die is available so I can read them back to back.

  25. LisaILJ says:

    I love these lists. How My Summer went up in Flames is now on my TBR list.

  26. stuckinva says:

    I saw Dance of Shadows a few weeks ago in someone else’s blog, and it looked *awesome*! It’s a must have for me!

  27. I’m so excited for Clockwork Princess! Next Tuesday can’t come fast enough! Do you have any hopes/wishes for Clockwork Princess? I just don’t want my heart broken, lol. But, I’m sure that’s gonna happen time and time again since it’s Cassandra Clare.

    My TTT Post

    • Quinn says:

      Well, in terms of the boys, I want Tessa to end up with Will. I love Jem, but I just think that WIll and Tessa belong together, and would be happiest with each other. But I do wish for Jem to be cured, and find happiness, too. Those are my hopes. But I am sooo stressed, and am not sure if that is how it is going to be. Cassandra Clare, why do you do this to us?? 🙂

  28. Livvy @Nerdy Book Reviews says:

    Dare You To is lots of good fun. I hope you enjoy it! 🙂 And Matilda is definitely a classic in my mind. Great list! 🙂

  29. Michelle says:

    Matilda is one of my childhood favs too!! I wouldn’t mind re-reading it if I could find my copy! I didn’t know there was a musical, that’s awesome… hope you have fun!! I also want to read How My Summer Went Up in Flames… and Dare You To!! I have it, but I’m afraid to read it because I don’t want it to be over… but I guess there also is the novella Crossing the Line coming out!!

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

    • Quinn says:

      The musical was originally in London (it’s still there, I think) and was so successful (it won tons of awards) that they (not really sure who “they” are) decided to bring it to Broadway. I cannot wait to see it.

  30. Rebecca says:

    Ah, Matilda brings back a lot of childhood memories – it was my favorite book then. Nice list. 🙂

  31. Hooray for Matilda! (I wanted “powers” so bad after reading that book.) The movie is fun, too.

  32. Tara says:

    What a fun list! I liked Dance of Shadows, though I think others’ opinions were mixed. Such a weird/creepy book. Hope you get to all of these, and that you let us all know how Matilda The Musical is!

  33. Clockwork Princess is soo close now! Excited!
    I can’t wait to read Dare You To as well, it has just been added to my Kobo to read soon 🙂
    How My Summer Went Up In Flames sounds cute too!

  34. Jelly says:

    I remember reading Matilda! Dance of Shadows sounds really interesting too. Hmm I’ll think about reading it soon.

  35. A friend read Dare You To and loved it so much that she wanted to reread it right away. So I am definitely stoked to read it too! I probably should have added it to my list too. I’m on an ARC tour for Towering. Sounds really good! 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by my post!

    ~Sara @ Forever 17 Books

  36. Ooooh!!! Towering by Alex Flinn looks really good! 🙂

  37. You should really read Dare You To as soon as possible, because it’s the most amazing book ever! 😀
    Top 10 Tuesdays
    Waiting on Wednesday

  38. Loving this list Quinn! I also want to read A Dance of Shadows & Towering! Definitely need to get caught up on the Infernal Devices series AND the Revenants series!! I hope you get to read all of these 😀

  39. Katie says:

    Great picks, Towering looks good, id like to check that one out! thanks for checking out my TTT – Katie @ Inkk

  40. Britt says:

    Very interesting list. How My Summer Went Up in Flames looks really fun. Great selections! Happy Reading!

  41. Melinda says:

    Matilda is one of my favorite children’s books too! I want to re-read the novel as well. Your list was a pleasant reminder. Goodluck with your reading 🙂

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.