Top Ten Books To Get In the Halloween Spirit

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  So, I don’t really know of a lot of books that fit into this category, so I am resorting to some kids books, as well as teen and adult books.  It will be a nice mix 🙂  Also, nothing is super scary.  Some of the Mary Downing Hahn books are a bit creepy, but I don’t think any of these would give nightmares.

 

 

 

 

 

 

1.  Texas Gothic by Rosemary Clement-Moore – Ghost story!
2.  All the Lovely Bad Ones by Mary Downing Hahn – Ghost story!
3.  Wait Till Helen Comes by Mary Downing Hahn – Ghost story!
4.  Deep and Dark and Dangerous by Mary Downing Hahn – Ghost story!

 

 

 

 

 

 

5.  Bunnicula by James & Deborah Howe – This is such a fabulous kid’s books.  It’s not really scary – but it has a vampire rabbit 🙂
6.  A Tale Dark and Grimm by Adam Gidwitz – lots of blood and guts in this one.
7.  Rebecca by Daphne DuMaurier – major creepy factor!

 

 

 

 

 

 

8.  The Little Old Lady Who Was Not Afraid of Anything by Linda Williams.  Such an awesome picture book.  And a fantastic read-aloud
9.  The Ghost and the Goth by Stacey Kade – I just read this one.  It’s not scary either, but there is a ghost!  And a creepy gray cloud of nasty.

What books get you in the Halloween spirit?

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

22 Responses to Top Ten Books To Get In the Halloween Spirit

  1. Lucy says:

    I have the Tale Dark & Grimm audiobook – I’ll have to try to sneak it in this Halloween. Bunnicula and The Little Old Lady are both so fun, and The Ghost and The Goth looks like a cute read too. Great list!

    • Quinn says:

      I don’t know about the audiobook, but the book was very fun. Lots of blood and guts, and kids getting their heads chopped off, but still good.

  2. Oo Mary Downing Hahn! I read all of her ghost books and they are so good! I work in a school library, and if they ask me for something scary, I recommend her books. 🙂 Have a great week!

  3. I love A tale dark and grimm! 🙂 And you have some scary looking books on your list. I’m going to check out the new ones. Thanks for sharing!

  4. ladyruby07 says:

    LOVE Bunnicula! Ever since I was in 2nd grade. 🙂

  5. Liesel Hill says:

    Ooh those all look way creepy. I’ll have to check a few of them out! 😀
    My TTT Happy Tuesday!

  6. I don’t think I have heard of half those books! I need to make a list! 🙂 I loved Bunnicula when I was a kid!!

  7. vmcarswell says:

    Great list! I like how you mixed everything and have something for everyone. I almost forgot about Bunnicula it has been sooooo long since I have seen it! Here is my Top Ten.

    Vyki @ On The Shelf
    Check out my new meme Cover Crush!

  8. I just love the title of A Tale Dark and Grimm and Rebecca is such a wonderful creepy read 😉 Nice list.

  9. BUNNICULA! Genius!

    I hate scary, so we just went costumes! Those I can get behind. Love the books you chose though. Especially Rebecca. I hate scary and I still loved that one!

  10. jennrenee says:

    I liked the Ghost and The Goth and I really want to read Texas Gothic. I read Splendor Falls and loved it, great ghost story.

  11. Emily @ Too Many Books says:

    Your list is fantastic! I love Mary Downing Hahn. (Time for Andrew was my favorite.) And Bunnicula! Fantastic.

  12. Dixie says:

    i love the cover for Dark & Grimm and Texas Gothic. I might have to put those on the list 🙂

  13. Michelle says:

    Dude Bunnicula!!!!! Awesome pick… love your list! The Ghost and the Goth is one of my favs from last year, it’s so cute! and The Little Old Lady has to be one of the only Halloween books I haven’t read to my son yet… I’ll be on the lookout for it 🙂

    Thanks for stopping by My TTT

  14. Jessica says:

    Bunnicula is an amazing choice! Thanks for stopping by my list 🙂

  15. Elizabeth says:

    I need to re-read the Mary Downing Hahns one of these days… I was such a fan of hers when I was a kid! I have been meaning to read Rebecca for ages, but always forget when I’m making library runs. The one time I actually remembered, it had been checked out between the time I left the house and got to the library! I need to try again soon, it seems.

  16. The Ghost and the Goth is a great pick! Not really scary, but still appropriate.

  17. Melissa says:

    I loved Bunnicula when I was a kid! The other books in the series are great too.

  18. I have Texas Gothic but I have not read it yet. Guess I better get on that. I did read her other one though. Splendor Falls was a really good book and that’s what made me buy the second one. Shelf pile up!

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.