Top Ten (erm, Six) Fairy Tale Retellings Authors

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  This week for TTT, we get to list our favorite authors in X genre.  This is actually kind of hard for me.  I couldn’t really think of ten authors in any genre that I loved.  Anway, I am so excited about Project: Fairy Tale developed by Alison from The Cheap Reader, so I thought I would list some of my favorite authors who write fairy tale retellings.

 

 

 

 

 

1.  Jessica Day George.  My favorite of hers is Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow, but Princess of the Midnight Ball is fantastic, too.  And I was just approved from Netgalley to read Princess of the Silver Woods.  So excited!
2.  Shannon Hale.  Three words: The Goose Girl.  AMAZING!
3.  Alex Flinn.  Beastly was such a fun retelling of Beauty and the Beast.

 

 

 

 

 

4.  Rick Riordan – okay so he doesn’t really do retellings, and they aren’t really fairytales, but it’s my list, so I’m including him.  🙂  Besides myths share some common ground with fairytales.
5.  Robin McKinley.  Although it took me a little bit to get into, Beauty was a beautiful retelling of Beauty and the Beast (can you tell I love this particular fairytale?)
6.  Gail Carson Levine.  Queen of fairytale retellings.  How can anyone forget the awesomeness of Ella Enchanted.  It was the first fairytale retelling I ever read, and I was immediately hooked.  Fairest is awesome, too.

What do you think?  Have I left anyone out?

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

34 Responses to Top Ten (erm, Six) Fairy Tale Retellings Authors

  1. Liesel Hill says:

    Cool idea to list fairy tale retelling! Wouldn’t have thought of that! 😀 My TTTs are at <a href="http://musingsonfantasia.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-ten-tuesday-favorite-authors.html"<Musings on Fantasia and LKHill. Happy Tuesday! 😀

  2. readerbuzz says:

    I love it when people create their own genres! 🙂

    Here’s my Ten Ten Favorite Travel Writers. I hope you’ll stop in!

  3. Adina says:

    Great list although I’ve only read Robin McKinley. I need to check out some of the authors 🙂

  4. Great list, the only author I have read though is Rick Riordan, but I have heard of all those books. 🙂 I didn’t see Jackson Pearce on your list, so I am curious do you not like her retellings?

    • Quinn says:

      I’ve only read one book by Jackson Pearce book (As You Wish). I liked it, but was never in a hurry to read anything else by her. I should look into her fairytale retellings, though.

  5. Candice says:

    Before you read Princess of the Silver Woods, have you read Princess of Glass? It’s the second book in that series. I started Princess of the Silver Woods a while ago and I will say that a lot of it builds on Princess of the Midnight Ball and Princess of Glass.

    All that being said, great list! I LOVE fairy tale retellings!

    • Quinn says:

      I have read Princess of Glass. I didn’t love it as much as Princess of the Midnight Ball, or Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow. That’s good to know that there is a lot of build up in Princess of the Midnight Ball and Princess of Glass. I will be prepared now. Hopefully I will remember enough of the first two books. 🙂 It’s been a while since I read Princess of the Midnight Ball.

      • Candice says:

        Same here, but I didn’t feel all that confused. I think you’ll like it!

      • Quinn says:

        Awesome! I have quite a few books that I want to read from Netgalley. I need to get on that 🙂 and I might just start with Princess of the Silver Wood.

  6. I’m also a huge fan of Beauty and the beast 🙂 Beastly was fun and I can’t wait to try McKinley’s version! Jessica Day George is a lovely author, I really need to read Sun and Moon, Ice and snow soon. And I can’t wait for part 3 of her Princess series! Great list 🙂

    • Quinn says:

      I love Sun and Moon, Ice and Snow. I hope you enjoy it as well. I am really excited to read Princess of the Silver Wood, too! I absolutely love the cover!

  7. All. Of. These. ❤ Also check out Adam Gidwitz if you haven't! A Tale Dark and Grimm=AWESOME!

    Check out my Top Ten Favorite YA Contemporary Authors HERE!

    Also, I have a FANTASTIC giveaway of a SIGNED copy Lauren Oliver’s new book, THE SPINDLERS, going on HERE!

  8. Lucy says:

    Love how you approached the topic! There have been a lot of great fairy tale retellings recently, and one I liked is Sisters Red by Jackson Pearce. I’ve liked Flinn’s and Carson Levine’s books and I’d like to read more of McKinley’s work. Princess of the Midnight Ball is one that caught my eye recently as well. Thanks for the recs!

  9. Loved this post; I have some of Robin McKinley’s books books reserved at the library, but I’ll have to read the others you listed as well!

    Here’s my TTT: http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/2012/10/16/top-ten-favorite-contemporary-ya-authors/

  10. fakesteph says:

    YES to Rick Riordan. I haven’t read any of the others, tho. I love fairy tales!

  11. Katie says:

    This is a great idea! I absolutely love Gail Carson Levine. I would also count Gregory Maguire among this genre, have you read any by him?

    My top ten list is here: http://wp.me/p2zoUo-bW so stop by if you have a chance!

    • Quinn says:

      I did think of Gregory Maguire, but I have never read any of his books. I tried to read Wicked, but just couldn’t get into it. I adore the musical, though 🙂

  12. I haven’t read very many fairytale re-tellings but I have always wanted to. I will definitely keep all of these in mind if/when I am able to! 🙂

    ~Allison @ Good Books and Good Wine

  13. Ella Enchanted! Loved that one 😉 I’d put Maggie Stiefvater on this list…she doesn’t do as many well known faery tales – but her books are all based actual faery tale creatures. Oh, and Entwined by Heather Dixon is a retelling of the 12 dancing princesses and it is FANTASTIC, you really must read it for the Fairy Tale project. Ha. That’s my suggestion anyway.

  14. Judith says:

    Great topic!!! Fairy tale retellings are amazing. I’m currently in love with Cinder, and I’m dying to read Throne of Glass (both Cinderella retellings), and Beastly, and Princess of the Midnight Ball….

  15. vmcarswell says:

    Great list! I think I am one of the few who didn’t enjoy Beastly as much as I wanted to, but I still want to read Alex Flinn’s other books, especially Cloaked! Here is my TTT.

    Vyki @ On The Shelf
    Check out my new meme Cover Crush!

  16. Great list with fairytale retellings! I love The Goose Girl and all Shannon Hale books in general 😛 Looking forward to reading the other books!

  17. Merin says:

    I love the inclusion of Rick Riordan, personally. For my Storytelling class last semester, I chose to tell a Greek myth instead of an “actual” fairy tale and my instructor agreed that they are definitely similar. I didn’t participate in this week’s TTT post because I honestly couldn’t think of anything when I had spare time to write the post up, but I like this choice a lot! Another author who’s done retellings is Donna Jo Napoli; Zel was particularly interesting.

  18. Yay for fairy tale retellings! Donna Jo Napoli also has done a ton of fairy tale retellings. I liked Beast by her and I’ve heard good things about Bound and Zel. Also Zoe Mariott, whose books I have yet to read but seem to be highly regarded. Same with Jackson Pearce. And Juliet Marillier has done a ton of great retellings.

  19. Christina says:

    Very cool idea for TTT- I love Levine and Riordan. I wish I had more time to read more of Riordan’s books- my students LOVE them! Thanks for sharing this great list!

  20. megan says:

    Great idea! Cinder! Definitely Cinder!

  21. I forget, have you read Juliet Maurillier? If not, I’d def check her out! I heartily concur on all your current picks!

  22. I adore all of these… especially Robin McKinley! I would also add Donna Jo Napoli (especially Zel.) I also love Marissa Meyer’s Cinder and Scarlett books. Also, there are so many Greek myth retellings recently that I love!

    • Quinn says:

      I have been hearing Donna Jo Napoli’s name a lot. I’ve never read anything by her, though. I should look into that.

      I have seen Cinder mentioned tons. I hear it is amazing, and it is very popular at the library. I just don’t like sci-fi books. Which is why I’ve never picked it up.

  23. KateB says:

    I think that’s such a good idea for a list. Ella Enchanted is a beautiful story.

    I can concur that Cinder is a great modern/futuristic retelling. I loved it.

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.