Top Ten Children’s Picture Books

Top Ten Tuesday is a weekly event hosted over at The Broke and the Bookish.  It’s rewind week for TTT, and I decided to modify the first every TTT (Top Ten Childhood Favorites) to my favorite children’s books now.  I’m a children’s librarian, so I read hundred of kid’s books every year, so I want to list some of my favorites.  Some are classics, some award winners, and some new additions to children’s literature.

 

 

 

 

 

1.  Mo Willems!  Okay, so he is an author, not a book, but he has created some of the most wonderful children’s picture books and readers!  Series include Elephant and Piggie, the Pigeon books, Knuffle Bunny, and standalones like Edwina the Dinosaur Who Didn’t Know She Was Extinct, and Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs.  You do not have to be a child to enjoy Mo Willems genius.
2.  Tacky the Penguin by Helen Lester.  This is such a crowd pleaser picture book.  Tacky is an odd bird, but a nice bird to have around.  🙂
3.  Bark, George by Jules Feiffer.  Another wonderful picture book.  And there is a dog in this one!

 

 

 

 

4.  Llama Llama Red Pajama by Anna Dewdney.  This one is so much fun to read aloud.
5.  The Snowy Day by Ezra Jack Keats.  First picture book to win the Caldecott with an African American MC.  But what I really love about this book is that it shows an African American boy doing activities that ALL boys (and girls do).  Kids can completely relate to this book.
6.  Blueberries for Sal by Robert McCloskey.  This one was actually a childhood favorite of mine, and it still is a favorite now.  I love that the text and illustrations are blue!

 

 

 

 

 

7.  The True Story of the Three Little Pigs by Jon Scieszka.  Definitely one of the best fractured fairytales out there!
8.  There’s an Alligator Under My Bed/There’s a Nightmare in My Closet by Mercer Mayer.  Anyone remember these ones?  I love the illustrations, and they are wonderful story time books.

 

 

 

 

9.  Goodnight Moon by Margaret Wise Brown.  Love this one!  You all remember this one right?
10.  Where the Wild Things Are by Maurice Sendak.  Best picture book ever?  You betcha.  Who doesn’t remember this book from childhood?

What are your favorite children’s books?

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Top Ten Tuesday. Bookmark the permalink.

40 Responses to Top Ten Children’s Picture Books

  1. I haven’t read any of these as a kid, mostly because we had enough children’s books in my own language so i never read any translations. I wish I read Where the Wild Things Are though. I shall do it next year 🙂

    My TTT

  2. These are such great picks! I would pick The Story of Ferdinand for my number one picture book. 🙂

  3. Llama Llama Red Pajama!!!

    I like Goodnight Moon but my husband thinks the quiet old Rabbit lady is weird and looks freaky so he won’t read it to our son. Boo.

    Where the Wild Things Are is so super for imagination. I’ve yet to share it with my son, but I will. He likes really short books right now 😉

    • Quinn says:

      I love Llama Llama Red Pajama!

      Haha. I like the quiet lady rabbit in goodnight moon, but I could see why someone might think she is weird.

      Where the Wild Things Are is just amazing!

  4. I remember reading The True Story of the Three Little Pigs when I was in 4th grade; so cute!

  5. Liesel Hill says:

    Great list! Goodnight Moon, Where the Wild Things Are, and The Snowy Day are classics! I also really like The True Story of the Three Pigs. 😀

  6. WTWTA is my number one favorite, but I also love Blueberries For Sal, The Snowy Day, True Story of the 3 Little Pigs. Great list! 🙂

  7. Oh, so thrilled to see Blueberries for Sal on your list!! I remember when I was in my thirties going to the library and describing this book to a librarian: “there’s a momma bear and a baby bear and blue berries, I want to get this book for my kids because I loved it when I was a kid, but what’s it called?” (nowadays I find a lot of half-forgotten books just by googling).

    I’ll have to check out Mo Willems for my kiddos and some of these others.

  8. Brittany says:

    I loved the True Story of the 3 Little Pigs! I remember our library teacher reading that to us waaaaay back in the day 🙂

    • Quinn says:

      It’s such a fun book! Jon Scieszka also has The Frog Prince Continued, another fractured fairytale, but I like The True Story of the Three Little Pigs so much more.

  9. Brandi says:

    I can remember reading the True Story of the Three Little Pigs in school!

  10. I can’t count how many times I’ve read ‘Goodnight Moon’! 🙂 I’ll have to check out ‘The True Story of the Three Little Pigs’ by Jon Scieszka, I remember reading his Time Warp Trio books!

    ~ Alice in Readerland
    http://aliceinreaderland.wordpress.com/

  11. I loved Mercer Mayer books, mostly for the illustrations. And Where the Wild Things Are! And especially Jon Scieszka and Mo Willems. Wish I’d discovered those as a kid. Great list!

  12. rubybastille says:

    Jon Scieszka books are awesome! And I love the art in “Snowy Day.” I would add the Corduroy books and When You Give A Mouse A Cookie/Moose A Muffin.

  13. Lucy says:

    Fun topic – I love picture books. I read a bunch of these with my daughter like The True Story of the Three Little Pigs and There’s a Nightmare in My Closet. And I think I probably still have Goodnight Moon memorized 🙂
    Thanks for sharing these great picks!

  14. stuckinva says:

    Two of my favorites are If you GIve a Mouse a Cookie (and that series) and There’s a Monster at the End of this Book. You have some great choices here, I especially liked the True Story of the Three Little Pigs!

    Thanks for stopping by my TTT!

  15. Katie says:

    Great list! The True Story of the Three Little Pigs is one of my all-time favorites!!

  16. vmcarswell says:

    Aww, I remember so many of these books! Great topic, thanks for stopping by!

  17. Michelle says:

    LOVE your list!! The Elephant and Piggie books are so funny and cute, my son loves them!! Goodnight Moon is an awesome classic… have you ever read Goodnight Goon, it’s a halloween spoof of GM and I think it’s cute! I am definitely obsessed with How The Grinch Stole Christmas, Harry the Dirty Dog, and Little Blue Truck!!

    My TTT

  18. Awww great topic! I loved Where the Wild Things Are and the True story of the 3 little pigs! <33
    Here’s my TTT

  19. Rory O'Connor says:

    I love One Morning in Maine and The True Story, they were two if my favorites when I was younger. My children’s contemporary favorites are anything by Peter Brown (particularly The Curious Garden and Chowder) or Chris Van Allsburg (Jumanji and Zathura). They also love older classics like Katy and the Big Snow. Great list.

  20. Oh, I always really loved Where the Wild Things Are! I haven’t thought of The Snowy Day in years. Fun topic. 🙂

  21. Oh this is such a fantastic Top Ten Tuesday Topic… I might have to do this one next time we have a Rewind. 😀 Thanks for stopping by!

  22. I have a small nephew and I am always looking for good books to get him. I loved seeing your favourites. Thanks for sharing!

  23. I just read Goldilocks and the Three Dinosaurs at work the other day (I work in a bookstore) and was laughing out loud like a crazy person. I love Mo Willems. Great picks!

  24. caitlore says:

    Such a great list!!!!! Where the Wild Things are will always be my favorite.

  25. I love your list! Where The Wild Things Are is one of my childhood favorites. I haven’t thought about The True Story Of The 3 Little Pigs in forever. Now I want to revisit some of my childhood favorites!

  26. Elizabeth says:

    This is a great list (with perfect timing for me– I’m pregnant and just starting to think about starting a book collection for my little one)! I remember quite a few from my childhood, but had forgotten them– like Blueberries for Sal, it looks so familiar, so I must have read it a time or two! Thanks for sharing!

  27. Shelver506 says:

    Oh wow, I remember that three little pigs book! Awesome stuff. I was always a fan of “There’s a Monster at the End of This Book.”

    My TTT: http://shelversanon.blogspot.com/2012/10/top-10-tuesday-rewind-top-ten-bookish.html

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.