Express Lane Review: I Only Have Eyes for You by Bella Andre

Welcome to my Express Lane Reviews, where I review a book quickly – with 7 points or less – so you can get on your way!

i only have eyes for youI Only Have Eyes for You  (The Sullivans #4)
Author: Bella Andre
Publisher: Oak Press
Age Group: Adult
Source: Amazon
Good Reads  |  Amazon
Rating: 3.5 out of 5

Summary from Goodreads:

Get ready for another Sullivan to fall in love in Bella Andre’s bestselling contemporary romance series!

Sophie Sullivan, a librarian in San Francisco, was five years old when she fell head over heels in love with Jake McCann. Twenty years later, she’s convinced the notorious bad boy still sees her as the “nice” Sullivan twin. That is, when he bothers to look at her at all. But when they both get caught up in the magic of the first Sullivan wedding, she knows it’s long past time to do whatever it takes to make him see her for who she truly is…the woman who will love him forever.

Jake has always been a magnet for women, especially since his Irish pubs made him extremely wealthy. But the only woman he really wants is the one he can never have. Not only is Sophie his best friend’s off-limits younger sister…he can’t risk letting her get close enough to discover his deeply hidden secret.

Only, when Sophie appears on his doorstep as Jake’s every fantasy come to life-smart, beautiful, and shockingly sexy-he doesn’t have a prayer of taking his eyes, or his hands, off her. And he can’t stop craving more of her sweet smiles and sinful kisses. Because even though Jake knows loving Sophie isn’t the right thing to do…how can he possibly resist?

Rating

3.5 out of 5

3.5 out of 5

My Thoughts

*so, I’m starting a new type of review on my blog called Express Lane Review.  The idea is that these types of reviews are quick (think express lanes in grocery stores), and each review will have 7 (or less) points.  Let me know if you like them, or if you have any advice.  I’ll still be doing my regular reviews, as well.  I just wanted to have some variety in my review structures*

Point One:  I have been hearing wonderful things about Bella Andre’s Sullivan series for quite awhile now.  I Only Have Eyes for You seemed like the perfect place to start.  First, I really like secret, childhood crushes stories, and the main character was a librarian.  I couldn’t resist that, and it turned out to be a good thing that I have no will power to resist librarian protagonist stories.

Point Two:  I was so excited that the heroine of I Only Have Eyes for You was a librarian.  I think being a librarian is pretty much awesome, and I couldn’t wait to see how Andre portrayed Sophie.  Sophie wasn’t a stereotypical librarian which I loved, but I am not sure if Andre gave the best portrayal of what it’s actually like working in a public library.  After all there is a lot more to working in a public library that just loving books.  Still, I was pleased.

Point Three:  Sophie isn’t exactly a stand-out character, and I do think she’s isn’t memorable.  That said, I really liked her, and I could see so much of myself in her.  She loves to read, and I think we can all identify with that.  She’s also glad to not be in the lime-light, and I can so relate to that.  But even though she’s been content to not be the center of attention, she also wouldn’t mind a little more attention, especially from her crush, Jake.  This desire to stay in the shadows, but also to want a little attention makes perfect sense to me, because that’s exactly how I feel most of the time.

Point Four:  Jake is pretty much your typical romance hero.  He’s gorgeous, quite the lady’s man, and isn’t so sure about marriage, and kids.  I think Jake was a great hero for I Only Have Eyes for You, but as with Sophie, I don’t think he’s particularly memorable.  There isn’t anything about him that makes him stand out from other typical romance heroes.

Point Five:  I read I Only Have Eyes for You in pretty much one sitting.  I couldn’t put it down, and I had that happy, content feeling once I finished it.  It flows very nicely, and doesn’t really drag in any parts.

Point Six:  I Only Have Eyes for You is a great, easy-going romance.  It might not be the most memorable contemporary romance ever, but it was fun to read.  Fans of Stacey Shannon and Jill Shalvis should totally look into the Sullivan series by Bella Andre.

Advertisements

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in 3 Star Reviews, Reviews and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s