Review: Touched by Corrine Jackson

Touched
Author: Corrine Jacksom
Publisher: Kensington
Age Group: Teen
Source: ARC from Publisher
Amazon     Barnes and Noble     IndieBound
Rating: 4 out of 5 stars

Summary from GoodReads:

Remy O’Malley heals people with touch—but every injury she cures becomes her own. Living in a household with an abusive stepfather, she has healed untold numbers of broken bones, burns,and bruises. And then one night her stepfather goes too far.

Being sent to live with her estranged father offers a clean start and she is eager to take it. Enter Asher Blackwell. Once a Protector of Healers, Asher sacrificed his senses to become immortal. Only by killing a Healer can a Protector recover their human senses. Falling in love is against the rules between these two enemies. Because Remy has the power to make Protectors human again, and when they find out, they’ll becoming for her—if Asher doesn’t kill her first.

This is Book One in the Touched trilogy.

My Thoughts

Oh my gosh, you guys, I could not put this book down.  From page one, I was so connected to the main character, Remy, that I only put this book down once between reads.  In fact, I stayed up until 2:30 am to finish it, even though I had to be up at 7 am.  I do have to say, and I hope this is not a huge turn off for anyone, but this book kind of reminded me of Twilight.  Don’t get me wrong, there are no vampires, werewolves or anything like that in Touched.  And Remy really isn’t anything like Bella.  But I think fans of Twilight, or those who like Twilight, but wish that Bella were a little stronger character, might want to look into Touched.

Remy was such an awesome MC.  She has had a very difficult life.  Not only does she have to keep her ability to heal others a secret, but she has to live with an abusive stepfather, and a mother who refuses to leave this stepfather.  When her stepfather goes too far one night, and Remy ends up in the hospital, Remy’s estranged father takes her to live with his family.  And here we get to see Remy finally become an open, happier person.  It’s not instantaneous, and Remy struggles with her feelings toward her father, his family, and the friends she makes in this new town.  But here is what I loved most about Remy – she’s no pushover, and she doesn’t want to stand around waiting for someone to rescue her.  But she isn’t a hard person; she can be sweet, and definitely a bit insecure which I think most of us can identify with.

Of course I have to talk about the boy, Asher Blackwell.  He’s pretty interesting, and I want to find out more about his background.  I also really liked the secondary characters – particularly Lucy, Remy’s half sister.  I want to be Remy and Lucy’s sister.

I love this idea of Healers and Protectors that Jackson created, and I definitely can’t wait to read the second book in hopes of learning more about them, and Remy’s place in the whole situation.  I know I have been saying how I am getting a little sick of series, but I can’t wait for the next book to be released.

Fans of Amy Plum’s Die for Me, Stephenie Meyer’s Twilight, Jennifer L. Armentrout’s Lux series will probably like Touched.  Seriously, give this book a try.  I loved it!

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Review: Touched by Corrine Jackson

  1. Maggie says:

    Jealous! I really want to read this one too! Glad you liked it. It actually sounds like an idea I had for a story awhile back.

  2. Liesel Hill says:

    Great review! I’ll add it to my list! 😀

  3. I’ve never heard of this one. I’ve just added it to my tbr list, though! Thanks for the review.

  4. Yay! I’ve been really wanting to read this book and I’m so glad you gave it such a glowing review!

    • Quinn says:

      I definitely liked this one. I was excited to read it, but liked it more than even I thought I would. I think part of it, too, was that I was in the mood for this kind of book. I hope you like it.

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s