Audio Review: Series of Unfortunate Events Book 12 by Lemony Snicket

penultimate perilThe Penultimate Peril
Author: Lemony Snicket
Publisher: Harper Collins Publishers
Age Group: Children’s
Source: Library
Amazon     Barnes and Noble     IndieBound
Rating: 3 out of 5 stars
Challenge: Series: Catch Up 2012

Summary from GoodReads:

After any harrowing struggle, it is nice to consider checking into a hotel for a rest. In fact, this might be just the break Violet, Klaus, and Sunny Baudelaire could use after their wearying deep-sea adventure.

A hotel can be a good choice for any family vacation. With so many floors, such a variety of rooms, and a curious array of guests, spending time in the safety of the right hotel can be the perfect learning environment for children of any age. A keen researcher like Klaus, an adept inventor like Violet, and a sharp-toothed culinary master like Sunny are all sure to find engaging diversions during their stay.

Regardless of how they pass their time while at a hotel, the three siblings will be sure to take in all the interesting sights and sounds–and write them down–just in case this episode turns out to be the darkest yet in a series of unfortunate events.

My Thoughts

You guys, I only have one more Series of Unfortunate Events book to finish to complete my goal for Series: Catch Up!!!!!  I hope I can finish the final book, appropriately titled The End, by the end of the year.  I have 5 days, but I have been listening to them all via audiobook, so it takes a little longer than reading the book.

Anyway, on to the review.  I liked this book.  As I mentioned in previous reviews, I think this series can get a little repetitive, so sometimes I get in a hurry to finish the whole series.  However, Tim Curry is still totally kicking butt narrating the series.  He makes it so much fun, even though I’m sort of ready to be done with the books.  The voices he creates for the different characters are wonderful.

Violet, Klaus and Sunny are staying in a hotel in this book.  This hotel isn’t your normal hotel though.  It is organized by using the Dewey Decimal System.  Being a librarian myself, I thought that was pretty funny, and I loved all the library references in this book.  Obviously, organizing a hotel by the DDC isn’t the best idea, but it was super fun to read about.

What I really liked about this book was how the Baudelaires started taking their fate into their own hands.  The realized that it was up to them to save themselves and even other characters in the novel.  Not that the Baudelaires haven’t been saving themselves in all the books, but this time it felt a bit different, and I liked that.

And I have to say, I am getting such a kick out of Carmelita Spatz!  She is one person I would never want to meet, but reading about her is so much fun.  Also, I’m still totally in love with Sunny.  I like all the Baudelaires, but Sunny is my favorite one to follow.

The ending to this one is really interesting!  I can’t imagine where this is going – but then, I’ve never been good at that kind of stuff anyway.  I just have to finish The End, and then I will have read all 13 books!  Woot, woot!

Life Tidbits

  • I had a really nice Christmas with my family (and hope you all did too!).  My mom got me these adorable slippers that look like my dog, Daphne.  So cute!  
  • But the big gift my mother got me was a rose gold ring with morganite.  It is the most beautiful piece of jewelry I have ever owned.  It is so special, though, because my mom really spent time finding the perfect style for me.  I love that she knows me so well.
  • I wasn’t able to take any time off from work this holiday (except 2 hours on Christmas Ever), and it was difficult to go into work on yesterday.  It was pretty slow at the library, too.
  • CNY is getting hit by a snow storm today.  As of 9:30 pm on Wednesday (when I’m writing this post) they are predicting 8-12 inches of snow.  Driving to work tomorrow should be fun 😦
  • I can’t believe there are only a few days left of 2012.  This year went by so quickly, and I’m not quite ready to see it end.  Do you guys feel like this year went by extra fast?

About Quinn

I'm a twenty-something children's librarian at a public library in Central New York. I've long left my teen years behind me, but I love to read YA and children's books. I have two adorable dogs. Ginger is a mix between a poodle and havanese, and Daphne is Bichon Frise. Other things I love: Favorite Movie: Singing in the Rain Favorite Book: Pride and Prejudice by Jane Austen Favorite TV Show: Monk
This entry was posted in Reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Audio Review: Series of Unfortunate Events Book 12 by Lemony Snicket

  1. I listened to the first book in this series on audio years ago and really didn’t care for it at all. My taste has changed though so it might be worth revisiting. Maybe when we go on a road trip I can get the audio since it’s something the kids should like.

    That ring sounds GORGEOUS! I didn’t get anything exciting for Christmas. Actually, I did. I spent our Christmas money on a juicer and I guess that’s exciting cause now I can spend a good half hour every day making our juice for the day. But we’ll be much healthier!

    Hope you’re not TOO snowed in!

Go ahead, make my day! No really, comments make my day! Let me know what you think.